AGM and the end of the year

Four new members have joined the Committee of Oswestry & District Society of Artists following the recent Annual General Meeting at the town’s Memorial Hall.

Local artists, Lesley Gardiner Jones, Cecilia Clifford, Stefanie Gundlach and Pauline Preston will now sit on the Committee following the retirement of a number of Society members. The outgoing Committee members were thanked for their service by Chairman, Christine Taylor, who is standing for a second year.

She also thanked everyone concerned with the organisation of the Autumn exhibition at the Memorial Hall when hundreds of visitors viewed over 150 paintings by artists from in and around Oswestry.

The Society celebrates its 40th year in 2019 and this year attracted 18 new members with more likely to join for next year.

Society President , Christine Brown, congratulated everyone on the high standard of work being produced and for the high attendance at this year’s demonstrations and workshops.

The Society was also thanked by the Oswestry Rheumatology Association for the generous donation of original paintings for a fund raising event they organised.

The favourite painting, picked by visitors to the recent show, was the work of Julia Benning with her portrait of two dogs. Julia was also chosen as best in show in the Summer exhibition.

Ruth Dawes one of our Raffle Prize winners

The final event of the year will be an informal buffet lunch at Oswestry’s Cricket Club on Saturday, 8th December.